Makerere University acknowledges that funds received from SIDA under the bilateral Research Cooperation enable Ugandan public universities to conduct impactful research, research capacity strengthening, institutional advancement, generate knowledge and promote research uptake for regional development, which is partly supported as part of the EDCTP programme supported by the European Union.

Error message

Deprecated function: Required parameter $plugin follows optional parameter $data in include_once() (line 480 of /home/makswed/public_html/sites/all/modules/ctools/includes/

Makerere University has been implementing the Makerere–Sweden bilateral collaborative Research Support program from 2000 to date.The overall goal of the program is to assist Uganda in its efforts to promote research for attainment of new knowledge.

The Research support program has been coordinated by the Directorate of Research and Graduate Training (DRGT). The Phase IV of the bilateral research cooperation agreement begun in November, 2015 and will end on 30th June 2020. The phase IV research agreement supports 17 projects at Makerere University, spread across teaching and non-teaching units in collaboration with four other public universities in Uganda and 11 Universities in Sweden.

Collaborating units (within MAKERERE UNIVERSITY) include:

  1. College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES)
  2. College of Computing and Informatics Technology (COCIS)
  3. College of Engineering, Art, Design and Technology (CEDAT)
  4. College of Health Sciences (CHS)
  5. College of Humanities & Social Sciences (CHUSS)
  6. Directorate of Research and Graduate Training (DRGT)
  7. Directorate for Information and Communication Technology (DICTS)
  8. Makerere University Library
  9. Makerere University Centre for Health and Population Research (MUCHAP).

Collaborating Ugandan Public Universities include:

  1. Busitema University
  2. Gulu University
  3. Kyambogo University
  4. Makerere University
  5. Mbarara University of Science & Technology

Collaborating Universities in Sweden Include:

  1. Gothenburg University
  2. Linköping University
  3. Stockholm University
  4. Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)
  5. Mälardalen University
  6. Chalmers University of Technology
  7. Lund University
  8. Borås University
  9. Karolinska Institute (KI)
  10. Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU)
  11. Uppsala University

Collaborating Team Leaders

Please click here to view the Swedish and Ugandan Collborating Team Leaders